1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newbie from Maryland

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Orpington1, Feb 26, 2015.

1. Orpington1

Orpington1 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 22, 2015
    Columbia, Maryland
    Hello from Maryland! I am a full-time professional woman and mother of two grown children; I’m happily married, and ready for the Backyard Chicken life. I’ve read everything I can get my hands on about backyard chicken keeping and am ready for the test!

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

Yes, I consider myself new to chickens since my only previous experiences were as a teen – many moons ago - gathering eggs and getting attacked by a rooster. Explaining to non-chicken people that roosters attack by flying backwards and punching with their legs “…and it HURTS!!” always resulted in peals of laughter. I’m happy to finally talk to people that won’t laugh at me!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

I am currently the proud owner of: 1 Buff Orpington, 2 Plymouth Rocks, and 2 Golden Comets.
    Here they are upon arrival, two days old from MyPetChicken.com.

[​IMG]

They are almost 4 weeks old now and doing well, but the fuzz is flying! They are getting big girl feathers, LOVE scrambled eggs, and are sick and tired of life in a plastic tub.

[​IMG]

It’s still too cold in Maryland for them to move to the coop, though – not to mention the fact that the coop doesn’t have a door yet (people door), but I’m working on that, see below.

(3) What breeds do you have? See above

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

Just doing an internet search for information on chickens – it always pops up!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?