NEWBIE! Got baby chicks, Can i let them roam freely in the backyard during the day???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Nounoushe, Mar 5, 2017.

1. Nounoushe

Nounoushe Just Hatched

Mar 5, 2017
    Hello,

I just got baby chicks yesterday, and i was wondering is i can let them roam during the day in the yard? I'm afraid they will scatter and run away and i won't be able to catch them back?!
    Also they are now staying i a big tapper wear with a heat light, and i kinda of don't like the idea of them spending all they time and days in the tapper wear.

Advice and suggestion...

Thanks!

2. MollyMalone

MollyMalone Out Of The Brooder

Feb 19, 2017
    Upstate NY
    Hello
    I'm also a newbie so don't know much at all but from what I've read I wouldn't let them wander anywhere for a few weeks as they need to be near their heat source, chick starter food and fresh water. I've had mine for 6 days and they seem very happy just in brooder with lots of cuddles [​IMG]

3. SueT

SueT Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2015
    SW MO
    The above answer had some good advice. Baby chicks need a heat source until they feather out! Keep them enclosed and safe until then. Once they are bigger, and have a coop to return to, then you can let them wander in your yard. Please check out the Learning Center for details on chick care.

4. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    You can take them for short outings to their coop/run, weather permitting. But you do need to keep them contained somehow. And you can not leave them unattended outdoors for long periods of time.

5. Nounoushe

Nounoushe Just Hatched

Mar 5, 2017
    Thank all!

I do have chick food for them and fresh water everyday.
    I was just curious if i let them out in the yard if they will follow me like a mommy hen hahaha [​IMG]

6. Ogdenfarms22

Ogdenfarms22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2017