Newbie Hatching with Homemade Incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rgvchicks, Feb 1, 2012.

1. rgvchicks

rgvchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2012
    Roma Texas
    Hello, I made an incubator out of a 10 gallon aquarium. Covered top lid with aluminum foil and on center added a bulb socket with a 60 watt bulb (no thermostat). I bought a digital thermometer/humidity and layed it flat right under the bulb and had it running for 48 hrs max temp 103 during the day and 98.4 during the night I calibrated the temps by punching holes on aluminum foil with pencil and brought it down to 101.9 during day and kept it at 98.4-98.7 by covering holes with tape during the night. I assumed everything was up and running and added 25 fertile eggs from my English Gamefowl Flock and "boom" temp went down to 92 degrees when i added the eggs, that was today 2/1/2012 at 5pm central time. It's 7:15 pm right now and temp has gone up to 94 degrees. I'm new at incubation and hatching eggs, this is 1st time to be honest, I read that temp was going to go down when eggs were to be added on the incubator and they had to settle down to the temp of incubator. My question is how long will it take to reach the temp needed as i had regulated the incubator and if this will damage the eggs if it takes long to reach the incubating temp....thanks....rgvchicks

P.S. Humidity has been ranging from 60% to 79% ....added a small pan with water

9:23pm = 95.7 degrees

1:00am = 99.5 degrees

1:55am = 100 degrees

7:45am = 101.8 degrees

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
  2. tmoore8595

tmoore8595 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2010
    Jefferson County, Al.
    It will take a while for the temp. to recover after adding eggs. You not only lost the heat by opening the door but the eggs will have to heat up too. This could take several hours and it will not hurt the eggs. The danger would be trying to readjust the temp. and getting the eggs too hot.