Newbie help!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by dcberger, Aug 9, 2011.

1. dcberger

dcberger Out Of The Brooder

Aug 9, 2011
    Hello... I am brand new to chickens, I have 4 birds, nine weeks old (Rhode Island Red, Easter Egger, California Leghorn and Silver Laced Wyandotte) and I am really enjoying this new hobby! Your website has been helpful to me in reading many topics, but now it is time for me to ask for help! This morning I heard a very sick sounding crow, 3 times, then all was quiet. This did not sound at all like an adult rooster, and I have heard that dominant females might have a weak or gargly sounding crow, so I am panicking on whether I have a dominant female (PLEASE let this be the case) or if I have a rooster among my girls (PLEASE don't let this be the case). None of them appear to have a large tail, or spurs (yet, but then i am not sure at what age they would get those). The silver laced wyandotte does have a comb, but I have read, and also seen, that some breeeds have larger combs than others, so it is somewhat hard for me to tell. My neighbors would not appreciate a rooster waking them each AM, and our town ordinance does not allow roosters. I am attaching photos. Thanks in advance!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Cowgirl71

Cowgirl71 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2010
    Missouri Ozarks
    [​IMG] This is the best chicken site on the web! [​IMG]

If your Wyandotte is only 9 weeks old then I say he's 100% rooster, with that big ol' comb. Sorry. [​IMG]

Easter Eggers can be sexed by color. Your Easter Egger is looking like a rooster too. See the red coming in on the shoulders? [​IMG]

But the Rhode Island Red and California White are both 100% girls. They'll be awesome layers for you! [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 9, 2011
  3. dcberger

Aug 9, 2011