Newbie here from Iowa

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by IAFarmGirl, Oct 19, 2012.

1. IAFarmGirl

IAFarmGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2012
    South Central Iowa
    I just joined the group today and thought I would introduce myself! I live in Iowa on 10 acres my husband and I purchased the summer of 2008 shortly after we got married. This is the second marriage for both of us and it has been great! We have 2 quarter horses, 2 border collies, 4 cats, and quite a bit of wildlife. Our 10 acres is heavily wooded with a VERY large front yard. The house sits in the middle of the property with the shop and horse barn at the back of the property.

I guess I decided to get some chickens after a pretty successful garden this year. I just couldn't give the produce away fast enough and some of it went to waste. The horses can't eat most of the things we grow, the dogs weren't interested in anything except playing in the water when we had to supplement, and the cats were only interested in the grasshoppers. I also had a bad infestation of Colorado Potato Bugs and was not interested in using insecticides. So the answer to my garden problems was obviously CHICKENS!!!

My husband helped me build the coop this fall and the pen is made of chainlink that we will eventually reenforce with 1/2 inch hardware cloth. It sits at the back of the property with the other buildings and under a large hickory tree. It will be insulated and we are adding electric to it. We have a water hydrant within 5 feet of the building. We are planning on ordering our chicks next spring and I wanted to pretty much have everything ready for them. I really hate doing things at the last minute.

So now we are waiting for spring to get here and then we will order about 50 chicks with half being meat and half for layers. I am excited for spring 2013 to get here!!