Newbie here, HELLO!! I hope my first post doesn't sound silly, I need opinions

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Bobby Ray, Feb 27, 2012.

1. Bobby Ray

Bobby Ray New Egg

Feb 16, 2012
    Well first off I want to thank everyone here for being so helpful thus far. I've been lurking behind the scenes for a while now gathering some great info, this site is so helpful!

I started my brooder last weekend and have around 15 chicks, all mixed breed, these will be my layers. I will get some meat birds in a couple of weeks but for now I'm focusing on the build of the coop.

I was hoping to get some opinions on a couple of things.

1. I was thinking about setting aside a closed of section of the coop for younger birds that I'll be introducing to the flock, this section will have it's own area in the coop and a portion of the run, from what I gather I need to keep the younger birds separated for a while till they get bigger?

2. I also was wondering about letting the birds free range, I have a complete fenced in yard and I'm willing to put up more fencing to keep them confined to one area of the pasture, will I be ok with letting them roam if I clip their wings or will they fly over a 4 foot fence?

3. When raising cornish x is it ok to keep all the birds together or keep my layers and meat birds separate? I hope that didn't sound ridiculous but I couldn't find a answer anywhere.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this.

Bobby Ray

2. Bobby Ray

Bobby Ray New Egg

Feb 16, 2012
    OK so I had a typo, my fence is 5 feet so if I clipped one side of their flight feathers would that be enough to keep them from flying over the fence?

3. OldGuy43

OldGuy43 Chillin' With My Peeps

I suppose it depends on your cluckers. I have Red Sex-Links and their run is divided in half by a 3' mesh fence and they don't offer to go over it even though they spend most of the day in the other half and seem to prefer it.