Newbie here. Hen is sick

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by 4chickenmom, Mar 25, 2017.

1. 4chickenmom

4chickenmom Just Hatched

Mar 10, 2017
    Chicago, IL
    My one hen is sick. She has diarrhea, and has slimmed down some. Not sure what she could have. None of my three other hens are sick.

2. coach723

coach723 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2015
    North Florida
    If you can post more info it would help getting some input. Age of birds, how long you've had them, what you feed, how they are housed, do they free range, how long has she been sick, etc.
    There are a lot of things that can cause this, my first reaction just based on my own flock is to ask if she's ever been wormed. Runny poos and weight loss are very common symptoms of worm infections. This is easily determined by a fecal float test, which many vets will do for you even if they don't see birds. But there are many other things it also could be, so the more information you can provide the more idea's people can provide you with.

3. -Wirth-

-Wirth- Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2017
    Northwest Florida
    Also even with the diarrhea itself... What color and consistency? Is there blood?

4. 4chickenmom

4chickenmom Just Hatched

Mar 10, 2017
    Chicago, IL

She's about 9 months old. I've had them 8 months. I feed her Purina omega 3 layer feed. She was fine the day before. Yes, all four have been dewormed. They free range two days out of the week. The rest of the week they have pen access. Their coop they sleep at night in. I'll get in touch with our vet too.

I did throw some feed out when they free ranged yesterday. She was the first over like she hadn't eaten in a while. Usually she doesnt like to be held for a while but she let yesterday. I looked her over from head to toe. She was just a little thin with poop all around her vent. I cleaned her off. Otherwise she looks and is acting fine.

5. 4chickenmom

4chickenmom Just Hatched

Mar 10, 2017