Newbie here...I have a few questions

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by nicoletm24, Jul 11, 2010.

1. nicoletm24

nicoletm24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2010
    Timberlake
    HEY everyone!

I'm very new to the incubating/hatching world. Have only tried once, and failed miserably. first mistake, we had the incubator in our shop outside, the temps went up and down too much. second, didn't control the humidity. we had a lot of eggs that were not fertile so we were left with about 15 that had embryos. all but 2 of those died in the egg before hatching. the first chick didn't even try to break out until day 23. she hatched, but was SOAKED...she couldn't dry off. then the 2nd one that tried to hatch, died before she was out. all the others after a few more days...we broke them, and they were all dead inside. some VERY small and under developed. some reg size but dead and soaked w/ a lot of fluid inside. the one that lived, i took her out of the incubator after 24 hrs, and had her under a lamp. but, there had some issues. couldn't stand. couldn't open her eyes. and she had a clear fluid bubble on her neck. she lived for 2 days, and died last night. [​IMG]

Ok, now that everyone hates me bc i failed so bad. I'm here looking for help. I've read everything that I can to make this time go better. got the bator inside a controlled room. got a thermometer and a humidity thermometer.

PLEASE any advice would be appreciated. [​IMG]

oh, and it's a foam incubator.

Nicole

2. mrslb333

mrslb333 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2010
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Don't feel bad [​IMG] We all have to learn and sadly theres bound to be some casualties along the way. Sounds like your humidity was too high and maybe a temp problem too. If you can get your temp stable thats one thing done. I had similar problems with my last hatches I'm setting again next week and I'm going to try a dry incubation this time that might be worth a look [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. Lotsapaints