Newbie here... Is it molting??

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 6chickshell, Nov 28, 2010.

1. 6chickshell

6chickshell New Egg

Nov 6, 2010
    My hens look like someone rubbed some sticky substance on their backs and their downy feathers are showing. Is this molt? I'm in Mass and we are cold now!!! I'd hate to put in a heat lamp but, should I? Will they survive the cold temps? This coming week will be 30's and 40's at night. Not too bad. How long dies this process take and how long til new feathers?

Also, they just started laying, will this affect their laying? They are 6 months old. I have 2 buff orps and 3 EE's. All hens.

Any advice greatly appreciated! I love my ladies:)

2. kidd42

kidd42 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2009
    Valley Springs, Ca.
    Someone will post something, if you have to keep reposting to keep the thread alive. If they are molting they will stop laying. Not sure about the temps, as mine all went through the molt about two months ago before the cold weather. Good luck, someone will respond with help. Kevin

3. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

I'll give it a shot

6chickshell,

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by rubbed sticky stuff If there is in fact some foreign substance on them you need to remove it, by washing your chickens. But I think you mean the feathers are messed up. Assuming that:
    A picture would be worth a 1000 words.
    Do you have a roo, perhaps he is messing up the feathers? Or are they picking on one another?
    If they just started laying it is not a full molt, but could be a mini molt. Usually the first Full molt is the second fall. But there is a lot a room for variation in chickens.
    When they molt it does slow down or stop egg laying. This time of year it can also be due to the shorter days. A full molt can take 1-2 months or a little more. You can give them more protein in their diet to help with the refeathering process.