1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Newbie here...Just built myself a new brooder!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by lawless116, Aug 6, 2018.

1. lawless116

lawless116 In the Brooder

Aug 6, 2018
    Hi Everyone! Im new to chicken raising but I was talked into it. I have since bought 6 baby orpingtons and they have been so much fun watching them grow. I have had them in a smaller tote but I felt like they needed more room. This weekend I took some old wood I had laying in my garage and built them a new brooder box and now they are so happy! Who knew this would be so much fun!? :)

IMG_7065.jpg 55520122805__90FE0A30-B06F-4985-A13D-5DF8546D1D91.JPG

2. happyfrenchman

happyfrenchman Crowing 9 Years

Dec 20, 2008
    Central Ga.
    Welcome to chickenry... you are in for it now.... those are nice looking chicks. Are they Blue Orpingtons or Lavender orpingtons as I have seen pictures of. They are beautiful birds.

Fields Mountain Farm likes this.
  3. lawless116

Aug 6, 2018
    I believe they are lavender. I picked up from a straight run. I think I have 5 hens and 1 rooster based on watching them. We shall see if i am right. lol

4. happyfrenchman

happyfrenchman Crowing 9 Years

Dec 20, 2008
    Central Ga.
    Lavender orpingtons are beautiful chickens. And great layers too. Good luck with your chicks. Your brooder is nice too.

5. Fields Mountain Farm

Fields Mountain Farm Enabler

Jun 6, 2017
    Dunlap TN
    Hello and welcome to BYC! :frow
    Congrats on the adorable littles and great job on the brooder. You may, however, wish to consider building a top for it. Your chicks will be fluttering around in there before you know it and they'll flutter right up and out.:)
    Also they may enjoy some low parches as well. :love