Newbie here looking for more advice and help . . .

Mamajewels

Chirping
Jan 27, 2021
Sagle, Idaho
So, . . I have taken to heart the comments I received from my intro post, this morning I spent 2 hours putting this little enclosure together in hopes of allowing my new little flock to get some "REAL" fresh air and stretch their legs. HOWEVER it hit me like a tittle wave "OMG" ! Do Chickens Fly?? Can they get out of this little play yard I'm trying to create?? I think I need some more help and advice. Its 4 feet, I'm 5'5" which creates a little problem not to mention the ground is frozen!! How do I do this, inexpensively and by myself ??

And please forgive me, I'm still learning how to navigate this website! Posting pictures, from computer rather than phone is a pain~ And keeping my posts to 420 characters, . . . well, I'm a talker so that's not easy either! LOL!!

Attachments

• Enclosure 1.jpg
    Enclosure 1.jpg
    565.1 KB · Views: 24
  • Enclosure 2.jpg
    Enclosure 2.jpg
    539.1 KB · Views: 20
I think 4 ft seems tall enough, although it would depend on your chickens. Mine never fly over 3 ft but I know some breeds, like Leg horns are more flighty than others. What breed do you have? If you need to, then you can use the wire you used to build the enclosure and make a roof\layer of the wire on top of the enclosure. That would also protect your chickens more from animals like hawks.

thank you~! I was just getting ready to post an update. However in answer to your question, I have a Silver Laced Wyandotte, a Plymouth Barred Rock an Ameracauna and 2 Buff Orpingtons (My personal favorites) I inherited these girls :) And the coop