Newbie here, looking for your seasoned help

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by YankeyPrepper, Jun 4, 2012.

1. YankeyPrepper

YankeyPrepper Hatching

Jun 4, 2012
    Hi everyone!

So, I decided to jump into having chickens. Here is my background:

We have six pygmy goats in a roughly 100x40 pen with 4' fencing. I am extending it to be about another 100' wide extending just into the woods.

I built the standard Purina (free plans) coop with some minor modifications (higher perches, lower nesting boxes). The coop is in the unfenced in portion of the goat pen addition with a nice amount of 3' chicken wire around it temporarily until the full 4' fence is completed (the posts are in). The idea is that the goats and chickens will ultimately share the pen.

My chicks are about 10-14 weeks old now. I have not clipped their wings and do not have poultry netting. If it isn't obvious, they leave the 3' fenced area and peck around in the tree line that the back of the pen (actual and extension) is in. They seem to stay nearby, so, at this time, I am not too concerned about that as I was when they first "escaped." They LOVE the goats and the goats have no problem with them. Heck, they ride on them and sleep with them through out the day. They seem to be GREAT pen mates naturally. If it seems to get out of control, I may decide to clip wings, but they are good so far in not roaming to far.

So, here are my questions: