Newbie here... Q's on candling, broodies, and chicks due anytime now

volchick

In the Brooder
9 Years
May 20, 2010
Hi, first post here! I have a young hen that went broody almost three weeks ago... she had a couple of fresh eggs under her along with some old ones that I hadn't cleared out... So being new and stupid about all this I started substituting the old eggs for fresh ones from the other hens over the next 2 or 3 days. Whoops! Now she's going to have a staggered hatch. Anyway since she is young and (in my estimation) still pretty small I only put a total of six eggs under her. She's a good broody. Makes such a fuss whenever I raise the door to her box and only coming off the nest for about ten minutes in the morning to eat b'fast.

Two or three days ago she didn't come off the nest at all (or so I thought), so the next day she came out for b'fast. I went through my usual routine checking all the boxes and saw that there were seven eggs in her nest... Uh-oh... I hadn't marked her eggs and when I put my hand on top of them they all seemed to feel about the same temp, so I decided to just leave it. Well this morning when I went out to feed them there were eight eggs on the nest!

I decided to get a flashlight and (try to) candle them while mama was still eating. The flashlight shone right through the first egg I picked up so I set it aside and picked up a brown one... no light at all. Picked up a light colored egg and as I turned on the flashlight underneath I could here the little peeps!! I flashed all the eggs and the light showed through just two of them so I set those in another box. I marked all the others just as mama was coming back to the box.

Was this right??