Newbie here. Question abuot young chicks and outside coop.

new_to_the_coop

In the Brooder
9 Years
Aug 31, 2010
Hi everyone. I am completely new to this, and have a BIG question about the proper age at which chicks can live full-time outside. I live in Buffalo, and as you probably know, it gets pretty cold here. One can never tell when the cold will blow in, as we have often had very warm Octobers (warm enough for a bumper crop of tomatoes). Anyways, I was hoping to get two chickens from a local farmer who will be hatching out a large number this September. I really can't keep the new chicks in the house; I work full-time and I have 2 cats and a large dog. I don't know the breed of chicken; but one would have to assume that they are a hearty breed (since I am getting them from a local). At any rate, how old do they have to be to be left outside full-time???? Keeping in mind I will have a heat lamp for them. I'd like to get them as young as possible to handle the cold (but not too young). THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!
smile.png

P.S. What watt heat lamp should I use?

Sorry if this is a repeat question
tongue.png

Last edited:
Generally when they are feathered out, which is usually at about 6 weeks of age. They will need a heat lamp when they are little. Do you have a garage or outbuilding you can raise them in? I don't brood mine in the house, but use an outbuilding with a heat lamp until they are old enough.

ETA: I have raised mine in an insulated outbuilding from the first day of hatch with a heat lamp and have had no problems. As long as you can keep the temperature stable, they will be fine. I start mine at 85 degrees and decrease 5 degrees each week. (by raising the heat lamp) My chicks are just too hot at 90 degrees. Just make sure you double secure the lamp to prevent a fire. I hang mine from a chain, then zip tie it to an alternate spot, so if the chain fails, the zip ties will hold it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Quote: