Newbie Here! *waves*

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MoosePijamas, Oct 11, 2017.

1. MoosePijamas

MoosePijamas Chirping

Oct 11, 2017
    Springfield, Oregon
    Hello everyone!! Wanted to introduce myself before I start being needy of your knowledge.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    These are my first chickens. A boyfriend's brother had a brooding chicken (had to google what brooding was) and since they don't have a rooster, nothing was going to come of her sitting on the eggs. I suggested we should find some fertilized eggs and to my surprise, the idea was agreed upon. I bought 8 fertilized eggs and waited until nightfall. The brooding chicken quickly dismissed the idea and even kicked the eggs out of the nest. I felt bad and bought an incubator and 25 days later, 3 out of the 8 have hatched. Considering I had no idea what I was doing, I'm very happy with my results.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    3. Frankie is the oldest by 28 hours. Then Pickle and Giraffe were born hours apart.

(3) What breeds do you have?
    Americuana (?)

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    Googling how to incubate chickens.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
    I like to play the piano. I've been doing that for 17 years now. I'm teaching myself "Somewhere over the rainbow" on the ukulele. I have a cat name Peaches who "hates" me. She is a rescue who showed up at my door with 5 kittens. All kittens were de-wormed, spayed and neutered before they went to loving homes. I like to watch the deer in the yard and I like to watch Game of Thrones. Except the yucky parts, I cover my eyes for that.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.