Newbie here with Questions

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by theracenut, Nov 21, 2010.

1. theracenut

theracenut New Egg

Nov 17, 2010
    Lexington SC
    Hello to all.....

I am new to BYC and chickens. I am enjoying my new found hobby and hope to be getting little rewards from it daily. I have 5 hens that are about 10 weeks old. One Barred Rock, Two Black Stars, One Red Star and One Easter egger the lady I got it from called it that I'm sure there is another name. I have a few questions which will lead to more I'm sure.

I am using the Deep Litter Method and read about using DE for moisture and lice/parisite control, and am confused about how much to use. My coup is 4 X 4 with wood floor so how much DE should I use 1/2 cup...1 cup...more...less?

I have seen pictures of fake eggs and golf balls in nesting boxes. I assume this is to encourage hens to lay eggs...or to show them where to lay eggs. My question around that is why and how soon?

Right now I am feeding them Flock Raiser and scratch feed, they also get bread and veggy scraps from the kitchen. The ground they get the scratch from is sandy soil do they still need grit and if so at what age?
    When should they be changed over to a laying food? And When should calcium be added?

Thanks in advance for your help and advice.......Bud

2. cletus the rooster

cletus the rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

you have about 8 weeks or so to go before switching to layer.at 18 weks we go with starter/grower and oyster shell for the ones that are getting ready to start laying.then once they are laying switch to layer.

3. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Quote:There are some good articles in the Learning Center on the home page. Also some excellent threads linked on the FAQ page. Of course, feel free to post if you feel the need.

4. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

A warm welcome from an imp in Washington