Newbie here

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Welshies, Jan 25, 2017.

1. Welshies

Welshies Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2016
    Alberta, Canada
    So I'm building another coop for my chickens, and now I can have a seperate coop full of another species of bird. I'm thinking quail. This coop is 4' tall, and 6' by 8'. With some modification, could I use it for quail? It's on dirt right now, outside. Also, what quail are good for eggs, meat, and brood their own chicks?
    [​IMG]

2. gpop1

gpop1 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2015
    With a little hardware cloth the coop would work for quail. The soil would need to be cleaned as you had chickens (lime racked in and watered) also the coop could do with a spray of diluted bleach or some other type of sanitizer.

As for type the courtnix would be the best option as they grow fast compared to bobs and they are less aggressive. As for hatching there own that's probably a bad idea. It can be done but other birds would kill the chicks. There's also a problem with introducing birds to a coop that's already established so incubating in batches works better. Once the chicks get to a good size they can be introduced all at the same time which is a lot less work. add a cage inside the coop for a few days before releasing the new birds by this time no one should be paying any attention to them plus the addition of lots cuts down on them picking on just a few new birds.

3. DK newbie

DK newbie Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2015
    For eggs and meat, as gpop said, coturnix are the best. For brooding their own young, as far as I know, buttons are best. But the live weight of a button is around 40 grams and their eggs are tiny - they aren't worth much as a meat and egg supply. Very rarely, a coturnix will brood its own young - you'd probably be better of giving up on the idea of them brooding their own young and just purchase an incubator and make a brooder if you want quail.