Newbie here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by emcakes814, Mar 30, 2017.

1. emcakes814

emcakes814 New Egg

Mar 30, 2017
    Oklahoma
    Hello y'all! I'm completely new to keeping chickens. I purchased from tractor supply and the kid that helped me gave me straight run instead of pullets and I have no idea what breeds they are. Looking for help and advice on possible breed and sex.

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, emcakes814, and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined our community! So, straight run chickens. What that your choice or a mistake by the TSC employee? What's your plan with with the inevitable roosters? If you'd like a crash course in poultry keeping you should take a tour of the many articles of the Learning Center here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
    And you can fellow Okie chicken folks in this link:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/501128/okies-in-the-byc-iii
    Good luck and thanks for joining BYC!

3. emcakes814

emcakes814 New Egg

Mar 30, 2017
    Oklahoma
    Mistake of the employee... my goal was to have pullets for eggs. What happened was they were what was left over. All in one bin together and under marked. He told me they were all pullets but are not. They gave them to me for $0.50 a piece to get rid of them. Now I think they all are roos but 1.My plan with the roos is to find placement for.them through a local farmers Facebook group.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2017
  4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    you can put photos of them at "what breed or gender is this." just in case they find a pullet in the bunch.

5. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG]Hello and Welcome to BYC. Glad you have joined us.

But so sorry, about your dilemma.