Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by TabbyG, Mar 25, 2012.

1. TabbyG

TabbyG Out Of The Brooder

Mar 15, 2012
    Gloucester, Virginia
    Hey Ya'll... I'm Tabitha - I'm a newbie to the site, but also a newbie to raising baby chicks. I just purchased 3 red pullets & 3 pullets last week. They've been a great addition to our family and we've had a lot of fun with them. We have them in the house right now under the heat lamp until our coop is built... anything I should know about this breed, or having small children around them? So far things are going great and I'm in LOVE!

2. wilbilt

wilbilt Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 20, 2012
    Nor Cal
    I am new here as well. We got 3 red and 3 mixed from TSC and they are about 4 weeks old now. One of the reds started pecking the tail feathers and backs of two of the others a few days ago. We moved them out to the coop where there is more room and the pecking has been reduced, but one of the victims looks pretty bad.

Just something to watch for. We are using a red heat lamp, which is supposed to reduce the tendency to peck, but I think they were too cramped in the brooder tub. They grow very fast.

Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  3. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer

May 11, 2010
    [​IMG]

4. TabbyG

Mar 15, 2012
    Gloucester, Virginia
    I got mine from TSC as well... Hopefully in the next 2 weeks their coop will be finished. I've noticed 1 or 2 is a little more agressive and kinda takes charge of the others, but they've done well under their light - it definetly calms them after a holding session with the kids.

I hope the pecked baby gets better - poor thing!

5. Sunnysimplelife

Sunnysimplelife Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2012
    SoCal
    My Coop