newbie here

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by thomassio, Jul 31, 2013.

1. thomassio

thomassio Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2013
    Hi all, I am really keen to get a few ducks. Im pretty much decided on 3 or 4 indian runners.
    I have a few very simple questions and hope that you can help!
    So what would be the preferred aged to get them? I want them as pets but also for eggs as a bonus! What is point of lay?
    I know this is probably rwally stupid.....what exactly should I feed them? I read chicken food is fine then that its not, what is flick raiser? And layer food?! Is there any definate no nos in terms of treats? I mean is most raw veg safe? i think i heard people feed them ground up egg shells too?
    Sorry for the daft questions but I want to get it right!

Thanks a lot.

2. DUCKOBSESSED

DUCKOBSESSED Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2013
    Northern Wisconsin
    i have ducks that i have had from many different ages. i personally like the duckling part to getting them as adults. Mine are my pets, they love treats, things like fresh greens and peas. i fed them chick starter as ducklings but it has to be unmedicated. then as adults the eat layer food. when they get greens i make sure they have grit to grind it up with when they eat. i have seven ducks of laying age (one is male) and get four eggs a day. my two calls don't lay. hope this helps and [​IMG]

3. MadiLarson

MadiLarson Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2013
    Fort Worth, Texas