Newbie here...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickie_momma, Aug 20, 2008.

1. chickie_momma

chickie_momma Out Of The Brooder

Aug 20, 2008
    I am expecting my first shipment of baby chicks in on 9/2 and I am sooo nervous!!!!

I have their water/feeder and brooder already with the heat lamp... I just dont know what to feed them!!! I know they need the chick (grower/starter) crumbles- but what brand is best?

My chicks are being vaccinated so do they need the medicated food??

I have so many questions- but I will start off slow!!! [​IMG]

2. mistylady

mistylady Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 1, 2008
    Ohio near Coshocton
    Welcome! Congrats on getting your new babies soon!

We buy what the feedstore has for starter feed. Sometimes they have medicated and sometimes not - small town! Right now our newest batch of chicks has the medicated feed. But our last bag of feed was not medicated. If you talk to the feedstore people they are usually pretty helpful. And you'll get lots fo info from our chicken people on here too! This place is wonderful!

When your chicks get bigger you can give them treats too! Mine love cut up apples and hard boiled eggs! Spoil the chicks!!!! They make great pets! [​IMG]

3. needmorechickens!

needmorechickens! Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2008
    West TN
    Just feed them there starter crumbles for now and let them get settled in. In a few weeks you can give them some yogurt, banana, cooked rice or cooked oatmeal, scrambled egg...but these are treats so keep them at a minimum.
    Still use the medicated feed if available, at least the first bag you go through.[​IMG]
    If you have any questions just ask people here...they are so knowledgeable and helpful...I love this place.[​IMG]

and .... [​IMG]
    ~Rebecca

4. swampducks

swampducks Overrun With Guineas

Feb 29, 2008
    Barton City, MI