Newbie here.....

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by EABK, Oct 26, 2014.

1. EABK

EABK New Egg

Oct 26, 2014
    Getting ready to take the plunge into raising laying hens in the suburb! Enjoying the
    wealth of info here!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Welcome to BYC. Does your town have restrictions on the number of chickens you can have?

3. EABK

EABK New Egg

Oct 26, 2014
    HOA doesn't look to kindly on it. May be a covert operation. [​IMG]

4. N F C

N F C doo be doo be doo Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    Welcome to BYC! Yep, lots of good information here and some very helpful, knowledgeable people to answer any questions you might have.

The "covert" operation might be tricky to pull off unless you have a lot of space between you and neighbors. Chickens aren't the quietest animals, at least not the ones I've been around. Even if you don't have a rooster crowing off/on all day, the hens can make quite a racket. Guess that could vary depending on breed or situation but they do squabble and get excited sometimes. Once they begin laying, a lot of them will "sing" an egg song. And then you have some chickens that are just more talkative than others. Maybe you could buy your closest neighbor's acceptance with eggs if they are bothered by your chickens.

Good luck to you, let us know how your new venture goes!

5. missbecky

missbecky Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2014
    Bowling Green, KY
    Hi... I'm new too, and also have back yard chickens...

So, I'm looking forward to see how things go with your chicks, and neighbors.

(One of mine likes to talk a lot -Should have named her 'Gabby' instead of "Henny Penny").

6. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us. Good luck with your new experience, raising chickens is so much fun...

7. BantamLover21