Newbie in Maine

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by bwockbwock, Jun 29, 2011.

1. bwockbwock

bwockbwock Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Hi all,
    I am a newbie from central Maine.
    I am renting a place where I can have my horse and a few chickens and Muscovy ducks the owner could not catch were the first of my poultry clan here. I have lost some ducks, chickens, one cat and recently my young Tom royal palm turkey to a fisher and an owl. I herd everything into the barn at night and shut them in so it is reducing my losses. I have been going to chicken swaps to pick up some new chicken ducks, and turkeys, and have discovered that I have quite a nack for picking roosters [​IMG].
    Last Sept Hester the Muscovy hatched out 7 ducklings, every one of them is male. She is broody again and sitting on one lonely egg. I am hoping to find some eggs at the Augusta ME Tractor Supply to tuck under her.
    My one remaining hen that is old enough to lay is a banty that is sitting on a whopping three eggs, LOL.
    My flock now consists of 9 Muscovies, 8 males, one female
    5 Kahki Campbells I found within an hour of me through this forum, they were hatched i late March so i have not figured out who are boys and who are girls yet.
    One very lonely Royal Palm turkey who wanders around the yard peeping for her buddy she lost last week. I am in hopes the same breeder will be at this weeks swap and have another around the same age I can buy.
    I bought three Buff Orpingtons, two of those are Roosters.
    I have one Cochin Rooster I a hoping to find a lady friend for.
    I have 5 Golden Comet pullets, and you are supposed to be able to sex them from birth by color, but a couple of them are acting like roosters, sigh!
    I think it is time to give up and buy some hens if I ever want any eggs.