Newbie in New Hampshire

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LittleLorelei, Jan 20, 2014.

1. LittleLorelei

LittleLorelei Out Of The Brooder

Jan 20, 2014
    New Hampshire
    Hello!

I am relatively new to owning chickens (Bantams, to be exact). I moved in with my boyfriend a couple years ago and fell in love with these tiny chickens. Last fall, I bought my very own chicken!

Sadly, she did not make it through this winter. She was a runt, possibly had a respiratory problem (or sneezing was just her thing).... But she was the sweetest, most awesome hen ever!
    Her name was Lorelei. She was a Silver Laced Wyandotte Bantam. She was probably a couple years old when I got her. She was definitely too tiny for the breed standard. But, she had the largest personality! Lorelei had little-big chicken syndrome and quickly took over our coop of five other Bantams soon after being introduced to them. All of them are much larger than Lorelei was.
    Lorelei was very friendly, with everyone. She loved to lay on her side in your hand and be pet. She was quite cuddly for a chicken and would close her eyes and just be super content! Lorelei definitely was the perfect first chicken for myself. I am going to compare every chicken I own after to her. (Probably not the best idea, as they each have their own personalities, but you just cannot help but compare to your first experience.)

Enough about Lorelei, though.
    I live in NH. I have a small coop that holds happily six Bantams. Currently we have three... this past couple months have been rough for the chickens. We had animal attacks and cold take some of our flock.

Losing all these chickens, and Lorelei, have me really chick crazy! I want to hand-raise some chicks and have them impression on myself. I look forward to being a chicken Mom and trying new things and learning a lot about these birds. This is why I joined here.