Newbie in Northern New York

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by AmyLynn2374, Oct 12, 2014.

1. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    Hi there! My name is Amy, I'm new to this whole chicken thing. I homeschool my 6 year old son and as a project for our Oviparous animal study (at the urging of my oldest sister who does raise chickens) we decided to try to incubate some eggs. She provided the incubator and eggs and promised to take the chicks after hatching.
    Well, I apparently screwed up and we ended up with two hatches and only one that made it after hatching (hatching was late).
    Of course we fell in love with "her". She'll be 4 weeks this Tuesday, at least I have come to the conclusion she is a she....lol. Since my sister has multiple breeds/mixed it's probable she is mixed and I have absolutely no idea what breed(s). Of course we are keeping her and will be setting up a whole pen/run/coop in the spring. Seeing as how we live about an hour from the Canadian Border and are supposed to have an awful winter, she will be housed with us. We have plenty of room and she already has an awesome set up inside.
    I came to be on BackYardChickens.com simply because just about every time I googled with a question, the best resources and most interesting threads were those that came from here. (I found myself laying in bed on my laptop reading posts well into the night...lol)
    Seeing as how my son would like to give it another try, we are planning on setting up again at the end of the week with new (calibrated) thermometers and knowledge of errors and hopefully having a better hatch for our second attempt.