Newbie in UK waves hello!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by katiepoole, Mar 11, 2015.

1. katiepoole

katiepoole New Egg

Mar 9, 2015
    Gloucestershire, UK
    Hi there I'm a newbie to BYC based in Gloucestershire in the UK. I have had a few chooks before, but am hoping to hatch and raise a mixed batch very soon so thought I'd join to benefit from everyone's expertise and support!

In the past I've had a lavender pekin (Gretel), a Plymouth Rock/Orpington cross (Henny Penny), a gorgeous but vicious bantam partridge Wyandotte (Mabel), and two bantam Orps - one black (Dixie) and one a strange buff/partridge mix (New Gretel - as named by my 3 year old daughter after the sad loss of Gretel who had been her favourite).

This time I'm thinking of some buff Sussex, Welsummers, a pekin or two to keep my children happy, something for blue or green eggs (though I don't like the crest that comes with most of them - sorry!) and maybe another Orp as they're just so lovely! Anybody else got any favourites?

2. Chicken Girl1

Chicken Girl1 Stuck back in the 40s Premium Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Virginia
    Hello [​IMG]and Welcome to BYC![​IMG]
    Glad to have you join! Feel free to make yourself at home! Barred Rocks, Buff Orpingtons, Easter Eggers, and Wyandottes are my favorite breeds. I would love it if would share pictures of your hens!

3. katiepoole

katiepoole New Egg

Mar 9, 2015
    Gloucestershire, UK
    Thanks, Chicken Girl1! Here's a couple of pics for starters

[​IMG]
    This is Henny Penny, the Plymouth Rock/Orp cross.

[​IMG]
    And here is the lovely Gretel.

Mabel is the one on my profile pic - she survived two fox attacks! She was a proper feisty little madam!
    I don't think we have Easter Eggers over here as such, but there are plenty of named crosses that produce coloured eggs (though in some cases you're not allowed to sell hatching eggs)

4. Chicken Girl1

Chicken Girl1 Stuck back in the 40s Premium Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Virginia