Newbie Introducing myself and my ducks! :-) PICS of My Ducks *UPDATE*

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by dawnjoennikki98, Oct 27, 2010.

1. dawnjoennikki98

dawnjoennikki98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2010
    New Jersey
    [​IMG]

Hello everyone! My name is Dawn, and I am a single mom to one 11 yr. old daughter, Nicole. We live in NJ. (down the shore).
    On a whim this summer, I decided to do something my daughter has wanted to do forever...incubate some duck eggs. So I ordered the incubator and ten eggs from Duckeggs.com....lol....Now, we love animals and have had many, but I have never done anything like this before. So, in my mind, I was expecting maybe one egg to hatch if any! Well, 28 days later, after watching over these eggs like hawks, lol, we got 8 baby ducks! We didn't know what kind at that time, but now they are 8 weeks old, and HUGE. 4 Blue Swedish, 3 runners, and one I'm not sure, maybe you guys can help. Me and my daughter are in love with these guys. I wish i could stay home and play with them, and build things for them all day lol. (more on needing help with that later, in another post) They each have their own personality and are hysterical. not sure who's male or female yet either, but have ideas from their quacks...no curled tail feathers yet.... I'm going to post some current pictures of them this afternoon, so stay tuned! [​IMG] I'm proud of myself really for how big and healthy they are now. a couple were born with twisted feet, couldn't even walk first few days, but all are doing great. Lucky's legs shake a little, but he gets around great, and it is adorable!! lol. They've started to flap their wings alot now, but no trying to take off yet.. how soon will the drakes get the curl? at what age will the hens start laying? thanks everyone! I have been reading the boards for two months now, and have learned so much from you all! [​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  2. dawnjoennikki98

Oct 5, 2010
    New Jersey
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]