Newbie Meat Bird Questions

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Hankdog1, Nov 27, 2009.

1. Hankdog1

Hankdog1 New Egg

Nov 27, 2009
    Cedar Bluff, VA
    I am new to the whole chicken idea but i've done other types of farming from managing cows to being a beekeeper. My want is to know where that chicken on my plate comes from. So the questions are as follows:

1. Can you manage a flock that will produce year after year? Curious about this because i get the feeling most of you raise them up until time to for processing.

2. What kind of housing do these birds need? I have seen everything from chicken coops to tractors whatever they are.

3. Whatever else you might think of that is important. I'm kinda just stabbing in the dark here as i really have no practial knowledge of chickens.

Thanks in advance for your input.

2. EGGTASKTIC

EGGTASKTIC Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 16, 2009
    WESTERN PA
    I will not speak for everyone but I raise mine from chicks I get from a hatchery. Cornish x are the breed I stick to most of the time.
    I do not have the time or resources to breed these myself. So my answer to the first part of you question is no and yes.
    If you want the nice big fast developing meat birds you will not be able to have a good breeding flock. If you want to go more of a traditional route you can raise a duel purpose bird and have some decent meat birds and a sustainable flock.

As far as housing goes you can go different ways. I prefer a simple made tractor ( a light movable shelter). I use what ever wood and fencing I can find and make an a-frame. The key is to leave the bottom open and build it light so you can move the thing around. Most of mine are about 100 sq ft. pvc is a good way to go. The goal is to grow these guys up as fast as possible - in an economical way.

pvc tractor link

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=171993

or

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=96313