Newbie-My new Muscovy has gotten hurt!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by AlaskaItaly, May 19, 2010.

1. AlaskaItaly

AlaskaItaly Out Of The Brooder

May 17, 2010
    I'm a newbie - just adopted 4 young Muscovy ducks last week. A friend, who was cleaning my pond, told me that when he was cleaning the pond, he got irritated with the ducks for being under his feet. He said he picked up one of them twice and was angry because she pooped on him both times.

That night, I noticed that duck was not able to walk very well. She is limping - and then plops down to ljust lay there. I've looked as best I can under her and at her feet and can not see anything obvious wrong. But this is the second day and she still is having trouble walking even a few steps.

I've picked her up and put her in the pond which she seems to enjoy - a bit of physical therapy:) She is eating and drinking well. She does not bite at me when I pick her up. The other three (one Drake and two females) tend to stay close by.

I've put her in a cage at night so she can rest and be away from the neighborhood cats. She laid an egg today but the shell was so soft that it broke in the nest. Since getting her, she has regularly laid eggs.

I'd certainly appreciate any thoughts as to what might have happened to her; what I can do about it, etc.

2. Goat_Walker

Goat_Walker I Am THE Crazy Duck Lady

Jul 9, 2008
    Maryland
    Maybe internal bruising? the Guy might have given her a good kick and not mentioned it to you.

3. AlaskaItaly

May 17, 2010
    If it is internal bruising - will it heal on its own?

Thanks so much for replying.

4. chickensioux

chickensioux Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2009
    Western North Carolina
    How odd. I am having the same issue with one of my call ducks. She eats, drinks, swims fine but when she walks she scoots around on her belly. I have wondered if one of my larger males hurt her at some point. I'd be interested to hear if someone comes up with a good answer too.