Newbie needs help starting flock

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Yellow Snow, Jan 16, 2011.

1. Yellow Snow

Yellow Snow Out Of The Brooder

Jan 4, 2011
    As a newbie I have a few questions about ordering chicks. I've noticed there's a big difference in price between some popular hatcheries (McMurrays, MPC, etc) and others like Sand Hill. Why the difference? Is it worth it? I'm not planning on showing my chickens but would like birds that are true to type and of high quality.

I'd like to establish a flock of about 12 bird total with several different types of Orpington (Buff, White, Black) as well as Red Sussex. I've only found one source that has all of these types (Sand Hill). I'd like to order them all from one place due to the complications of dealing with minimum order quantities when I only want 12 birds. I live in a very rural area and I'm unaware of any local breeders. Any advice regarding the best source(s) to acquire my birds?

2. Buck Creek Chickens

Buck Creek Chickens Have Incubator, Will Hatch

Nov 26, 2008
    Neenah, WI
    Quote:the big difference is the quality of the birds, the big hatchery birds are usually poor quality, the only one that's better is Ideal I will only order now from Sandhill or private breeders, but it all so depends on how fast you want the birds, Both sandhill and private breeders do not run on a fast time schedule, rember chickens are live animals, breeders have a limited amout of hens and they do sometime go broody, if you are not in a hurry go with sandhill or someone like them, but if you are in a hurry for your first birds, start with Ideal then go from there

3. onecent

onecent Chillin' With My Peeps

Here in NC where i live, our feed mill ordered from ideal, I got good quality breeds my silkies were beautiful! and i had several other breeds that were nice. i don't know if you have ever looked on craigslist or not, might be a breeder in your area or close by also.

4. peacockfarmer1