Newbie needs help

dustcover

In the Brooder
May 8, 2016
Recently added two new hens, a Barred Rock and a black Sex Link, to my flock of five. Being a newbie, I may not have inspected the new hens as vigilantly as I should have.
After a couple of weeks, I discovered the Barred Rock as having a severe case of flystrike, which I was totally unfamiliar with. I quickly learned a lot from an extensive article on flystrike by the 'Chicken Chick'. But unfortunately my efforts to treat this hen were way too late and she had to be euthanized.

Of course I then carefully examined my remaining hens and found no indication of flystrike. No caked feces on feathers, no flies, no larvae, no maggots.

My original five, Speckled Sussex, Buff Orpington, White Leghorn, and two Reds all exhibit wonderful health and well-being.

However, the black Sex-Link that I acquired with the now demised Barred Rock, although showing no signs of flystrike, is exhibiting a very distressful ailment. I've bathed her underside in a tub of water and Betadine and cleaned the area that is affected. And quarantined her in my hen infirmary.

I'm hoping that someone might recognize from the attached photo this affliction. And offer some advice as to treatment.

how old is she? if she is around 1 year old, then she is molting. that is normal. it is the annual shedding of a chickens feathers. they will grow back though.

It looks like her chest feathers are thin, and she may have a breast blister. She could have gotten that from sleeping in wet bedding, or she may not have been able to roost because of a leg problem. Sometimes broody hens who want to sit on eggs will pull out their chest feathers, but this looks more like something has irritated her skin. Look her over for lice and mites(tiny bugs.) Check her legs and foot for swelling of her joints which could be a sign of a joint infection called MS. Keep her quarantined for at least a month to make sure that she is healthy.