1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newbie question about broody hens

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MontanaDolphin, Aug 5, 2013.

1. MontanaDolphin

MontanaDolphin Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 16, 2013
    Columbia, Virginia
    Ok, so I'm totally new to chickens. Quick background of my flock:

I have 9 total...8 pullets, 1 cockerel. 2 of the pullets and my cockerel are who's left of my 1st batch of 6 hatchery chicks...the other 3 turned out to be cockerels, so they became dinner. They are 22 1/2 week old Barred Rocks.
    My other 6 pullets are Commercial Blacks, which are a Barred Rock cross (with what, the hatchery couldn't tell me...they came from Mt. Healthy Hatchery in Ohio). They are 19 1/2 weeks old.

Of my 8 pullets, 2 girls started laying about 3 weeks ago...1 of my BR's and 1 of my CB's. The CB was 16 weeks old when she popped out her first egg, my BR was 21 weeks old. I have been gathering the eggs every day (and boy are they yummy!!).

Now to my question...possibly a stupid one LOL. How many eggs (about) will a hen lay before she sits on them and becomes broody? I know the eggs are fertile...when I crack them open into a bowl, there's the bullseye to show me they are. I want my hens to hatch their own...I don't want to incubate because I don't want to go through having a brooder in my house again (the dust and smell was awful). But I don't want to leave the eggs in the nests if my hens won't sit on them to hatch them, and then possibly waste the eggs. So how do I go about this? Is there an age a hen needs to reach before she'll become broody? IS it based on the number of eggs in a nest? Thanks!

These are my two girls who are laying:

Sansa, my CB:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Boring Girl, my BR:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. sourland