newbie question-hen sitting on eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by aubreyt78, May 8, 2009.

1. aubreyt78

aubreyt78 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2008
    I have a black silkie that has been laying on a few eggs since2sundays ago..........
    She has decided to make a nest below the boxes, and is always sitting on them, she is getting up to eat and drink. It has been now 14 days..............

I have had my bantams for about 1 year now, never had hatched any eggs...Have had alot laid, but have eaten them or tossed, never tried to hatch. Is it safe for me to assume that 1-these eggs are fertilized(I tried candling but I saw nothing and need to try again), 2- if they are fertile, and I do the checking, blood ring, etc). Now what? Do I wait until they hatch, then put them in the incubater? idk...............This is my first attempt and I am lost........I have 23 banties, 14 hens, and 9 roosters!!!!!! can you believe they all get along? I am reading about hatching but I am confused about the initial stage..................

2. EricShane

EricShane Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2009
    SouthWestern Ohio
    im sure some of those eggs have to be fertile with having 9 roos - Give her time.. Im sure it would be exciting!

3. Dottie Pratt

Dottie Pratt Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2008
    Arkansas
    It is so special to go check and find out her babies are here. First time this year I have seen it. I have hatched some but now I think its great to let Mother Nature take its course.

Welcome:welcome

Dottie

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    If your black silkie is sitting on the eggs day and night, you do not need an incubator. She will hatch the chicks and raise them for you.