Newbie - Shed to Coop Remodel

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by GallaghePreach, Mar 14, 2015.

1. GallaghePreach

GallaghePreach New Egg

Mar 13, 2015
    Southside, Alabama
    Greetings from a newbie to the world of chickens.

As a new person to the world of backyard chickens, I ask for your patience in my understanding. My family and I just purchased a home with 1.5 acres of land. We will be using a large portion of the land for gardening, fruit trees, etc., but I have always wanted to raise chickens for eggs and possibly for meat.

So, with no knowledge of chickens or coops, I am studying up on the material, but I have a coop question. In part of our yard we have a shed that is not being used at this time. The shed is large 15 wide by 20 long and was used by the previous owner for raising rabbits. I thought about sectioning off a half of the shed and using it as nesting boxes with a door or two opening to the yard and using it as a run. A section of the yard for the run will also be fenced in.

As you can see from the photos, the sides of the shed are such wire fences allowing air to pass through while still protecting from the elements.

Any ideas to help?

Thanks in advance,

Chris

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Folly's place

Folly's place Chicken Obsessed

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan
    Welcome! It's great to have a nice building as a start. You will need to add hardware cloth over the woven wire fencing, and secure the base to prevent digging. If the opening faces south, that's even better. Electricity and nearby water would be very nice too. Lots of possibilities here! Mary

3. Monguire

Monguire Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2014
    Manassas, VA
    Agreed...what a WONDERFUL blank canvas you have to work with there. I wish we'd been so lucky when we embarked on this adventure!