Newbie to chicks and hatching.. Could use any/all advice and tips

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Serenity Lane, Mar 21, 2013.

1. Serenity Lane

Serenity Lane Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2013
    New York
    Hi Everyone! I've been reading tons on BYC for the past week or so and I figured it was about time I speak up and introduce myself.
    I'm new to the whole chicken thing. I have a farm with 4 horses, 1 pony, 2 goats, 1 sheep (not mine, she's a boarder), about 8 feral (some have become friendly) barn cats, although more stop by for the free buffet in my barn, 3 indoor/outdoor cats, and, last but not least, 2 dogs.
    Last week I was at TSC getting feed and I saw the chicks. Like years past, I stopped to look at them. Impulsively, I bought 6 pullets. Three are White Leghorns and 3 are red.. I believe Rhode Island Reds but I'm not 100% sure. Right now, I have them set up in my tack room (in my insulated barn) in a huge dog cage with wood set around on all 4 sides to cut down on drafts (when I open the door) and a heat lamp hanging from the ceiling above. Five of six seem to be thriving. The little one, a White Leghorn I've started calling Chicken Little, has crooked legs. The right leg seems to turn out a bit. She gets around okay but she more waddles than walks. I tried bracing her legs together but after 2 days of finding her fallen over every time I check on her, I took it off. She was growing right along with the rest of them before I put the brace on but her growth slowed (pretty much stopped) and she seemed stressed all the time with the brace. I don't know if I did the right thing by taking it off but I felt like I was killing her slowly by leaving it on so I did what I thought was the right thing. If she makes it, that's great, but if she wasn't meant to, it is what it is. (I'm trying not to get attached.) I just don't want to decrease her chances of thriving.