1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newbie to hatching egg Question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Choco Maran, Dec 22, 2014.

1. Choco Maran

Choco Maran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2009
    Ribera New Mexico
    Just received my Marans eggs 7 of them. This is my first try on hatching. Do I place them right away in the incubator (they are cold to the touch) . I read somewhere where they let them rest for 24 hour before placing them in the incubator? Please Help.

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/hatching-eggs-101

If your eggs have been shipped to you then yes it is advisable to let them rest for 24 hours before setting them in the incubator. The shipping process is quite hard on the eggs and they can become damaged. They can have damaged air cells or become scrambled if the process has been particularly rough. Letting them rest give the air cell chance to settle and possibly reattach. The above link has an excellent section on hatching shipped eggs.

Wishing you the very best of luck with your first incubation attempt. Hope you enjoy the experience incubating and hatching is a super experience.

3. Choco Maran

Jul 25, 2009
    Ribera New Mexico