Newbie - White Sussex cross Leg Horn

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by MillieTu, Mar 5, 2015.

1. MillieTu

MillieTu Out Of The Brooder

Mar 5, 2015
    England
    Hi Everyone.

I'm a newbie :)

I collected my first ever baby chicks on Tuesday (03.03.15)

Hatched on Friday (27.02.15)

1 White Sussex X Leg Horn (Popcorn)
    1 Maran X Faverolle (Nugget)
    (fingers crossed the breeder was correct and they are hens)

Has anyone owned any of these before pictures would be greatful also what kind of layers are they??

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC, and good luck with your chicks. 3 is better than 2 - that way if something happens to one, there are still two for company. Of course 4 is better than 3 and 25 is better than 4 and ---------------------- just enabling here. [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. MillieTu

Mar 5, 2015
    England
    Don't be saying that to me! Id have 25! I love them I can't stop looking at them. I'm just getting a little worried I think they might be sneezing! Is this possible

4. rebrascora

rebrascora Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK
    Hi and welcome

Congratulations on your new chicks. Rather usual crosses but sound interesting.

Unfortunately it is a fact of life that despite our very best efforts, sometimes chicks and even adult hens die, so as sourland suggests more than two is a better option since they are social creatures.... but that statement comes with a warning clause..... BEWARE CHICKEN MATHS..... 2 becomes 3, becomes 5 and before you know it, you have over 40 like me and still planning your next acquisition or what eggs to put under your broody for this season.