NEWBIE WHO NEEDS YOUR HELP ON THE DEEP LITTER METHOD

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by paulzan09, Jul 28, 2014.

1. paulzan09

paulzan09 Hatching

Jul 28, 2014
    I am new to backyard poultry, started in february 2014 here in jacksonville florida. i have 5 hens... 2 plymouth rock, 2 rhode island reds and an araucana. i have an above the ground chicken coop measuring 4x4 ft living space not counting the nest boxes with a big run for my girls. I have been using straw up to now and is about to change the bedding to pine shavings... i have heard that the best and most economical method is to do the deep litter method.... i need a step by step instruction on that... :D my partner chicken enthusiast who is of course my husband said, that method is going to make our coop wood floor rot, is that true? coz i told him that as per what i read, i have to put soil first before the bedding? your answers will be greatly appreciated! :)

2. petrel

petrel Chats with Chickens

Welcome to BYC! There is some good reading on this thread: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/70/deep-litter-method and many others. I too use pine shavings, but I can't stand to leave it more than a few weeks. Even after a second application of pine shavings and a little scratch to encourage the girls to mix it up, I still prefer to strip it bare and start fresh.

Thanks for joining.

3. liz9910

liz9910 Crowing

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California
    Welcome to BYC! I don't use that method, I use sand in my run and Sweet PDZ in the coop. Good luck to you.

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]