Newbie With 5 Day Old Indian Runners

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Amy S, Mar 18, 2012.

1. Amy S

Amy S Chillin' With My Peeps

Here to introduce myself, and my three runners - Ming Ming, McNugget, and Petri. (see avatar) Hi to all!

I am new to ducks, but not new to birds altogether. I have knowledge in the usual exotic household avian species (cockatiel, canary, finch, dove, backyard birding, ect.)... but this is a whole 'nother ballgame! These little guys hatched 3/13, and we brought them home on 3/15. We have them in a great, big, roomy rubbermaid with heat lamp, water, and food. They have not been for any swims in anything and have not been outside as of yet. They are growing, and doing well and are very happy ducklings!

We have a small backyard, but a great area picked out that will give three birds lots of room. We are in the process of building their duck house/coop, and run as I speak.

I would LOVE to get any advice from you guys! I guess the great thing about having 'any' kind of bird background is that it really makes you STOP, THINK, and ASK - before doing anything with birds you don't have experience with.

The site is very knowledgable and looks great! I will be stopping by (probably daily, lol) to ensure that I doing all that I can for my birds! More pics to come!!!

Amy S.

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    [​IMG]

Storey's Guide to Raising Ducks, or The Ultimate Pet Duck Guidebook would give you loads of help!

Meanwhile, I will try to list the first things that come to mind.

If you have found duckling food, that is wonderful! If you are feeding chick starter, there may not be enough niacin for some ducklings (they need three times the niacin chicks do), so sprinkling brewer's yeast on their food, or dissolving a 100 mg niacin capsule in a gallon of water will help. Once they are outside eating bugs, it is less of a concern.