1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newbie with chick questions... :)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chickaroo, Apr 28, 2008.

1. Chickaroo

Chickaroo Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2008
    Hi all. A friend told me about this wonderful group. I have been reading and reading since I am new to chickens. I am already hooked! I have 3 week old chicks.. 3 Aracaunas, 3 Black Sex Links, 3 Red Sex Links and 6 something or others that start with a B...lol I can't for the life of me remember what they are. They were supposed to be Dual purpose chicks and they are yellow (going to turn white) with furry feet. I just have a few questions that keep lurking in the back of my mind. How soon can we take the babies outside on short day trips? Do we put them on the grass or put them on dirt? Should we keep them confined in a pen or will they stay with us? Does it have to be the same temp outside as their inside house before we can take them out? At what age can we feed them treats and what can they eat? When do we start a perch? They are already hopping up on the feeder and the waterer. Any help would be great!

Thanks!!![​IMG]

2. chickflick

chickflick Overrun With Chickens

Mar 10, 2007
    Dimondale