Newbie with chicks...just lost one, what should I check?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by GratefulNewbie, Mar 25, 2019.

1. GratefulNewbie

GratefulNewbie Hatching

Mar 25, 2019
    Hello,
    I am brand new to BYC but have lurked and scoured for awhile planning our coop. So grateful for all the help thus far and hope for more help as I begin my first chicken adventure.
    Brought eight babies home last Thursday. The smallest runt died overnight due to cold, it was pushed out from under the heating plate. Realizing the workshop was too cold, we've moved them into our large bathroom and are keeping the room fairly warm (about 80-85) plus the heating plate is still there.
    Everything was fine until just now, and I've lost another one, found her under the heating plate.
    Every chick has been seen eating and drinking, and happily moving in and out of heating plate.
    No one has pasty butt and all the poop looks normal to me.
    I know it just sometimes happens, but for my peace of mind as a beginner, what should I check or be doing, or looking for at this point?
    Thanks!

2. TheFirstLadiesChickens

TheFirstLadiesChickens In the Brooder

Mar 23, 2019
    Eastern Missouri
    I recently raised 13 hens from chicks. This was my first time raising chickens so my advice may not be the best!:) Sorry! I still have all 13 hens and they are 10-month-olds so I guess I did something right.

Do you have a picture of the heating plate? Your brooder should probably be a little warmer, maybe 90/95 degrees would be better. If the heating plate isn't big enough to cover every chick, maybe try a heating lamp. That is what I used. It can be a fire hazard so make sure it is secured if you end up using one. Fingers crossed!

3. Shezadandy

Shezadandy Songster

Sep 26, 2015
    Portland OR