Newbie with first eggs would like some helping hands to post...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by duckluck, Nov 22, 2009.

1. duckluck

duckluck Dulcimyrh Ducks

Oct 22, 2009
    Illinois
    Okay, so I've said it before but those of you who have not read me under the "duck" section, I am new to ducks this year and new to eggs as of right now.

I have three Rhode Island Red eggs fresh out of the neighbor's henhouse this morning and three that were refrigerated from same yesterday...do I have a hope that these refrigerated eggs will hatch, or should I not bother?

I have a GQF cabinet bator, I believe it to be a 1202, that I have test run before weeks ago but now is warming to temperature and the eggs are sitting in my mud room, also warming to room temp...I have lightly sanded what there was of poop off of them after having read zillions of posts about washing/not washing eggs...decided to sand as these are the only eggs I have right now to "test my wings" with...

So, what humidity does anyone think I should start these RIR eggs with? Any RIR people out there want to weigh in? What about the humidity? Beore anyone asks, yep, the bator has been cleaned with bleach water several times now...the actual owner's husband had an "eggsplosion" and subsequent massacre in it, so took it apart and cleaned it thoroughly when I got it home weeks ago, blew it out with the compressor even ...this is a tried and true bator for fifteen years running but the owner has too many things going on just now to bother with eggs, so I can be the proud new foster mom of this bator until she decides she wants to hatch again, if she does.

Thoughts, anyone? I'm not going to keep these potential chicks but I do want to learn as I am hoping for call duck eggs in the spring, which I understand are way difficult, so I want to try and gain some "eggspertise" while I am waiting.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  2. retiredwithchicks

retiredwithchicks Chillin' With My Peeps