Newbie with Mystery Bantams Pic Heavy!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Ariomi, Mar 28, 2012.

1. Ariomi

Ariomi Out Of The Brooder

Mar 28, 2012
    Hello all! I am a newbie here at BYC. I won't go into my chicken experiance but it is fairly low and I'm just now getting to know all the breeds etc. I just got my first chicks(13 of them!) from a chick day at a farm store on 3/16. I'm assuming they were a few days old so that would put them around 2-2 1/2wks. They came from Heartland Hatchery here in MO. These guys are all Bantams. I asked the guy to write down what he'd given me since I just told him I wanted a banty assortment. He wrote it down but he was in a real hurry and it took me until a few days ago to finally know what all he wrote down. So the list is Silky, Cochin, Old English,Domineker, and Millie Fluer.
    Group Shot
    [​IMG]
    1.OEGB? She has a few small black spots on her back
    [​IMG]
    2.Silky (5 toes) but what color?

[​IMG]
    3.My Fav hope its a she, could this be the Millie Fluer? She has great leg feathers, real thick. Cochin? Oh and she was reaching her neck out to see what was going on lol she's doesn't normally walk like that...
    [​IMG]
    4.I have 2 of these, rather excited about them. Are they porceilan? Cochins or?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    6.Another Silky, thought she was Buff but now look at the wing feathers, splash?
    [​IMG]
    7.OEGB I'm assuming, she pretty, her name is Pippin
    [​IMG]
    8.Group shot of the Domineques. That small one in the front thought seems to be blacker then the rest..?
    [​IMG]

Thanks so much all for any help! I'm so excited to have these babies!

Last edited: Mar 28, 2012
  2. mama24

mama24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2010
    GSO, NC
    So cute! I think you are right on your breed guesses. The silkie is a partridge. :)

3. That one with more black is a pullet

from my experince, your other dominiueqes are all roosters....