Newbie with Questions

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by LILCHIKBIGCHIK, Jan 24, 2012.

1. LILCHIKBIGCHIK

LILCHIKBIGCHIK Out Of The Brooder

Jan 24, 2012
    South of Boston
    Hello all I'm a newbie to this awesome site and to chickens, so I have a bunch of questions when it comes to coops. I plan on getting 4 female Black Australorps. I already learned so much from just reading this site, but still have questions. I found a nice coop from online, so I was curious to see if anyone has one http://chickensaloon.com/the-general-store-backyard-chicken-coop/ I had some estimates to have a carpenter build a coop for me and were talking about $750 plus for a similair sized coop as this one.

Thanks for any help

2. KrisH

KrisH Chillin' With My Peeps

Welcome to BYC! I built my own, but you don't have to get that fancy either. a large old doghouse with a roost and nestbox may do and give you more time to work on your own. Part of the fun is building your own. nothing fancy to start, just secure from preditors. there are lots of options. check local papers and classifieds online and printed. you will be amazed what you will find

RobertH

3. bobbieschicks

bobbieschicks Chicken Tender

Jun 24, 2011
    King George, VA
    My Coop
    Looks cute.

I purchased a small coop from eBay. It was not worth the price. It leaks and isn't predator proof. It said it fit 4-6 hens but that's not true for standard size hens. I haven't used it yet. You could build a coop with free pallets from Craigslist fairly cheaply.

I can't link to pictures from my iPad or I'd post the one we have. You can check my page for pics.

4. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens