Newbie with several questions

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by bamachicks8, Jan 5, 2013.

1. bamachicks8

bamachicks8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi everyone I am very new to chickens and plan on ordering my very first batch very soon I've read a couple of books and done literally days worth or research but I have several questions and after reading the the first few pages of post still have some surely some have been answered before but 5 years and close to 2000 pages of post seemed very overwhelming so here they are.
    1. Day old chicks seem to take alot of time with constantly checking temps etc I'm usually gone from the house from 6 am to 6pm I can run home during lunch for a quick check any advice?
    2. I want to order a small number of chickens as a starter 15 or less I definitely want only pullets NO cockerels thrown in but a few different breeds wouldn't bother me as long as there wasn't any roosters and healthy chicks what is the best online hatchery for this (My local feed store doesn't sell all the breeds I'm interested in) also preferably being able to tell the breeds apart but this isn't necessary a deal breaker
    3. Also dh refuses to let them in the house and we don't have a garage will they be ok in a draft free coop inside a brooder box with an electric heater I know they should be kept 90-95 degrees was curious if anyone has successfully raised chicks in a similar situation or a I doomed for failure from day one
    4. Chickens can succumb to extreme cold/heat but what exactly does that mean temp wise i.e. 30 degrees is to cold or your should hook up the ac at 100 I live in Alabama so we rarely get snow but summer can be hot and humid any tips for beating the heat
    5. I plan on keeping my chickens till they die of old age should 15 chickens supply eggs for 3 people