Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Jebnaveb, Nov 22, 2015.

1. Jebnaveb

Jebnaveb Out Of The Brooder

Oct 30, 2015
    So Cal
    Hi fellow chicken lovers, I am completely new to keeping chickens and cannot believe the fun they are bringing with their own personalities. I bought four Chickens at 10 weeks old in august, 2 Rhode Island Reds and 2 Buff Orpingtons, first discrepancy was one of the Buffs turned out to be an Easter Egger, few weeks later decided it was a Rooster. Well that was ok we can keep Roosters. Fast forward and turns out the Reds are both Roosters! Question is is my beloved Hetti a Rooster too? I am hoping someone can please tell me not! I have uploaded a couple of pictures and would appreciate your opinions, thank you [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Sorry, but that one is also a rooster :(

3. Frindizzle

Frindizzle Guitar Girl <3 Premium Member

Welcome to BYC! Glad you joined the flock! [​IMG]

Definitely a rooster. Sorry.

4. Jebnaveb

Jebnaveb Out Of The Brooder

Oct 30, 2015
    So Cal
    Thanks for confirming, I started having my doubts this week, he is such a friendly bird and follows me around everytime I go outside, so I guess I will have to try and rehome them and find myself some hens! How long can I keep them in together, are they likely to start fighting? I do have a chicken tractor so I can separate them. I will keep the buff and try and rehome the rest which is a shame as I have become quite attached to them. I guess I can stop looking for eggs now!

5. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    Sorry for the bad luck! With no hens to fight over they probably won't fight at all. Even my roosters, who have hens, don't fight because they've got the pecking order sorted out and respect it. With yours all having grown up together you're probably fine.

6. CherriesBrood