Newbie!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by tishywoo, Nov 3, 2016.

1. tishywoo

tishywoo Just Hatched

Apologies if this is a dumb question, I'm new to this all.

My broody hen has just hatched 2 days ago 7 out of 12 eggs (we bought eggs and they are all mixed variety.)

She left 5 eggs today, they were all liquid inside so we think that's a pretty good hatch rate for first timer. She is in an old dog kennel, inside a big cage (for protection) and can still see and hear all other chickens. There is straw on floor, but she's kicking it up, as chickens do, as she's scratching around, and in the process, kicking the chicks. A couple of them were in the food bowl and went on a ride in that. Is this normal, am I over thinking and over-worrying, after all, I can't watch 24/7. Thanks for any advice.

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC. As soon as is possible give her and the chicks a larger pen. She may inadvertently hurt them as she is scratching and looking for tidbits for them.

3. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

Hey there tishywoo

Welcome to BYC and congratulations on the hatch.

As sourland has suggested, some more room may help with the problem.

I just wanted to add that I have a broody Pekin [bantam Cochin] and those big feathered feet of hers have knocked a few littlies over. However, they soon learn to stay in front of her and out of range of her feet.

Also, when she finds something in her scratching she will call them over and they also soon learn that in front and close to her beak gets way more treats than out back and in the firing line [​IMG]