Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jshannon, Nov 10, 2016.

1. Male

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Female

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. jshannon

jshannon New Egg

Nov 10, 2016
    Virginia
    Hello all. I am new to NYC as a member. I have been reading lots of posts since Doing of 2016 when my husband brought 2 18 week red hens home. My boys named them JellyBean and Juanita (Johnny's hen). I converted a 8'x8' fenced in area into a chicken area but did not fully enclose as they had the coop for evening protection. During day they free range in fenced in yard. I even paid to have separate dog potty area fenced in to allow chickens to free range, and then have to herd them into chicken run before allowing dogs (greyhounds) to race around entire backyard. Works out well since my dogs sleep most of the day and last for about 15 mins of high speed high jinks in backyard each day. Unfortunately something took my hens in June. no feathers found- assuming attack was quick and from above. So I built into chicken run enclosing the top and got 4 straight run chicks locally. 3 chocolate Orpington and 1 red. The red is definitely a hen (pullet?) & 1 of the 3 chocolate orps was a definite hen. I had a definite rooster and the 3rd, I'm not sure about.
    Sadly I am down to2. I have reinforced chicken run with square pavers inside run perimeter, added retaining wall edging on outside in addition to the chicken wire I put up 1 foot outside and over entire run. Yet something burrowed in and murdered (very violent scene) my definite chocolate Orpington hen Penguin. Head gone, gutted and entrails spread all over run. At this point I added the stone edgers, blocks but didn't finish in time and 2 days later my definite Rooster chocolate Orpington went MIA overnight. I could see where he was pulled out (feathers) and reinforced that area as well. In the last month I've only caught raccoons in the trap I set out.