Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by trichickie, Aug 22, 2013.

1. trichickie

trichickie New Egg

Jun 25, 2013
    Hi,

My name is Missy and I'm new to the world of chickens. My next store neighbor moved and I took over his 4 chickens.

I have no idea what kind of chickens I have. I've looked at pictures of different breeds and I think I might have this one or that, but I'm not sure. I'll figure it out one day. Need to send in some pictures, so I can get help on that.

My 4 chickens:

Toby -she is 3 years old. A big golden girl. I actually just sent in a post regarding her sudden behavior of hanging out in the coop all day. I thought she was laying an egg, but except for a few times that I disturbed her, she has been in the coop all day. Is this considered brooding? The new ones have just started laying their eggs?

Chick Chick aka Fred -she is 2 years old. She is black and has shades of green in the sunlight.

Amanda -she is not a year and just started laying this past week. I think she is laying blue eggs. She is orange and has a fluffy head.

Spot -she also has just started laying this past week. She is black and white.

Besides the chickens, I have 2 indoor cats and 3 dogs. A complete animal house.

I'm excited to be part of the backyard chicken community. The original owner of the chickens told me about this site.

Whoo hoo!!!

2. Mr MKK FARMS

Mr MKK FARMS Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 27, 2012
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you joined us! [​IMG]

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG]without seeing them I am guessing Toby is a buff orpington. She sounds like she is in "broody mode," and wants to hatch (fertile) eggs. If she has some or you could get some elsewhere you could put them under her .