Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Anna6, Jan 3, 2014.

1. Anna6

Anna6 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 3, 2014
    SoCal
    (1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

Yes and no. It has been a long time since I had chickens and I am a newbie to a gander, White Chinese goose. In the past I owned chickens on and off from a silky to Rhode Island Reds. I have incubated and hatched eggs and also raised 25 Rhode Islands Red from a straight run mail order. This was all 20 yrs or so ago and I feel like I have to relearn everything.

We dug up the incubator and bought a heating lamp. I am going back and forth between what I want to get. My DH was sure I should get Rhode Island Reds again and I also thought I would get just one type of chickens but now I am leaning more towards a little of everything.

I tend to favor the dual purpose heavy breeds but I think I should get a couple of Silkies for my 8 yr old twins. Also we picked up these roosters and a gander.

Now I think I want more geese also but am undecided which ones would be the nicest for letting run loose in the back yard. The Chinese gander is a good boy but he is very young still and I read they can get protective and aggressive as they get older.

I am checking Craigslist SoCal all the time to see if there is anything in our area. That is how I got the roosters and gander.

I am also waiting on some Dark Marran eggs, other Marran eggs and possibly Silky eggs to buy from people that live close by. I was not planning to incubate originally but the cost of some of the chicks or adults are a bit pricey and funds are limited.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

(3) What breeds do you have?

I just have three chickens, Black Jersey Giants, and they are all roosters.
    One Chinese gander.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

I was googling on the internet and found this board.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

quilting